Wednesday, June 19, 2013

Ninja Lefties

As I was reading the section about a funny blogger she mentioned ninjas. There were a lot of other things but obviously Ninjas stuck out. I love ninjas. Naturally I can't stop thinking about them now.
So anyways I started thinking about lefties... Why don't all lefties just write backwards? Mirror image writing and reading is simple. It comes naturally to some/most of them so why don't they just Teach lefties this? I hate seeing lefties forced to write with their hand held at some awkward angle all the time. It takes me an extra beat to read mirror image but I can do it. If I did it regularly it would be as natural as forward text.

In any case after reading about ninjas my inner thoughts took off with 'HoooOooYa' and TMNT scenes and Power Ranger's mad fighting skills. What would it be like to be a left "handed" turtle?
My brother-in-law is left handed. I wonder if I could get him to be a TMNT for halloween...

Squirrel is awake... Sort of. Squirrel bait likes to get out of bed in the middle of the night and cuddle. Probably says to much about my night owl tendencies. Those are hereditary dang it! No, seriously, look it up; they've done a study and have actually found a gene that causes it.

After being awake for 18 hours I am beat. I'm sure little squirrel is as well. Zzz



Saturday, June 8, 2013

Just another day

Yesterday was the first dry day we've had for awhile. The dump was open but we didn't make it out. Little bear was being a BEAR and I was going crazy. As soon as my husband got home I handed the screaming monster to him. The lawn didn't get mowed. The trash didn't get hauled to the dump. I left the house and went to a 31 party with other adults. Classic life - today it rained. The lawn can't be mowed. The trash can't be hauled to the dump. *sigh*
At some point in the middle of the day my husband looked up and noticed water in the dome of our ceiling fan light. He took a bucket into the attic and put it on top to catch future drips but there was still water running down so we took the entire fan down and GUSH. Oofta! There was a lot of water in the fan left so I'm glad we took it down. I used the opportunity to give the glass parts a good wash and wiped everything else on the fan off with a damp rag. Lets just say the fan hasn't been taken apart since we put it up five or so years ago and the most I've ever done was a quick dusting. Yuck.
I already knew I would be dealing with water in the basement; I just didn't realize how much. Wowza there was far more than I expected. It must have rained quite a bit last night. Vacuumed up what I could with the little shop vac; had to empty it twice. Then I emptied the dehumidifier. Now I'm just praying that tomorrow will be a nice sunny day.
The lumber yard will be closed of course so there won't be any new shingles ordered until at least Monday evening.
All in all it's just another day. It sucks but it is what it is.

Thursday, June 6, 2013

A tentative difference

It's the middle of the night. Why am I awake? Partially because this is the only alone time I get, a good part because of a bothersome rib and partially because I keep thinking of things I'd like to change in my life.

The changes I'm making are small but will eventually make a big difference. One such change is opting to forego traditional shampoo. Many out there are terming it "no poo" but I'd prefer not to. Convincing my friend to try this with me gave me the moral support I needed to jump right in; thank you for that. I'm two weeks in and not hating it. This small change has led to trashing the traditional deodorant as well. I'm trying to lead a healthier life with fewer chemicals.
I'm also slowly trying to stop drinking anything besides water or tea. That's hard when I'm so tired from staying up late; some times a little caffeine boost is required. Pop is probably my booze equivalent. I'm not big on alcohol... It tastes like alcohol! There are a few things I don't mind but I honestly think God had a pretty good reason for giving me sensitive taste buds.
There are so many thoughts rambling around in my head yet I'm finding it hard to grasp any of them firmly. Going to sleep is required for possible coherence tomorrow; a day which I failed to fully grasp will be a long one before opting to stay up late.