Yesterday was the first dry day we've had for awhile. The dump was open but we didn't make it out. Little bear was being a BEAR and I was going crazy. As soon as my husband got home I handed the screaming monster to him. The lawn didn't get mowed. The trash didn't get hauled to the dump. I left the house and went to a 31 party with other adults. Classic life - today it rained. The lawn can't be mowed. The trash can't be hauled to the dump. *sigh*
At some point in the middle of the day my husband looked up and noticed water in the dome of our ceiling fan light. He took a bucket into the attic and put it on top to catch future drips but there was still water running down so we took the entire fan down and GUSH. Oofta! There was a lot of water in the fan left so I'm glad we took it down. I used the opportunity to give the glass parts a good wash and wiped everything else on the fan off with a damp rag. Lets just say the fan hasn't been taken apart since we put it up five or so years ago and the most I've ever done was a quick dusting. Yuck.
I already knew I would be dealing with water in the basement; I just didn't realize how much. Wowza there was far more than I expected. It must have rained quite a bit last night. Vacuumed up what I could with the little shop vac; had to empty it twice. Then I emptied the dehumidifier. Now I'm just praying that tomorrow will be a nice sunny day.
The lumber yard will be closed of course so there won't be any new shingles ordered until at least Monday evening.
All in all it's just another day. It sucks but it is what it is.
No comments:
Post a Comment